National Smart Cities Challenge Winners Announced

Government announces the 20 winners of the National Smart Cities Challenge. The winning cities and towns are from 11 states and UTs. Total investment of Rs. 50,802 Crores has been proposed for over a period of five years. The Smart Cities Mission is expected to promote a holistic approach towards development of the cities. These twenty cities account for 3.54 crore population. The 23 States and UTs who could not make to the list of winners will be given an opportunity to participate in a ‘fast track competition’. The highest ranking city from each of the remaining 23 States and UTs can upgrade their smart city proposals and submit them by April 15 2016, for inclusion in the mission.

The press release from NIUA & CBUD can be seen here.